February 14, 2015

I’ve been quite scatterbrained earlier this week and most of last week; quite a lot has been going on college-wise, but that’s not uncommon for the beginning of the semester.

Early in the Spring semester, I have to sign up for a room in a residence hall for next year; what I want to do, either stay in my current room or move to a different one, depends on the time-frame I have to sign up. I also want to room with a friend of mine next year too; it’s always nice to have a roommate who’s just as weird and awkward as you. Luckily this process went smoothly and nothing exploded.

However, apparently trying to drop a class is not as smooth of a process. It sounds simple enough though:

  1. Get a class drop from from the registrar
  2. Fill it out with ID info and class info
  3. Get my adviser’s and professor’s signatures
  4. Pay a $15 drop fee
  5. Turn the form back in to the registrar

And yet I can’t get my professor’s signature because he doesn’t have good office hours, and when I tried going to his office during those hours, he wasn’t there. So, I guess I’ll have to attend class next week (it’s a 3hr. class that meets once a week @ 7pm) and awkwardly hand him the form and attempt to explain the situation.

I won’t go into any details as to why I’m dropping this class or what the class is. It involves a completely different discussion entirely.

Along with this, I’ve had a couple life things on my mind for quite some time. Those I may or may not explain later.
 
 

Monday

I’m part of the national Christian organization known as Intervarsity, which focuses on bringing college students to Christ and encouraging them to be on mission for Him. Every week, there’s a small group Bible study/fellowship called a Witcom (Witnessing Community) meeting. Usually, there’s at least one per res hall, but there’s also others like the Engineering, Fraternity, and Football Witcoms that aren’t tied to a particular res hall.

When I went to Witcom for the first time this semester this week, I forgot they went to what’s called Winter conference this past weekend, which I didn’t go to. Not surprisingly, the meeting was mostly a recap of what went down then, though the theme of the discussion was good: Gospel identity.

My Witcom leaders were asking us: where and how do we need to improve on our Gospel identity as Christians? This is where things got interesting.

Everyone was being so transparent and open with their struggles and anything that could be steering them away from the Gospel. Sitting there and hearing everyone be so open about themselves got me contemplating if I should share something that I’ve been struggling with since last November; and I will admit, it is a very controversial subject.

I decided to share what’s been on my heart.

Not surprisingly, I got a positive response from everyone, but it did help ease my nerves some. They also made sure that I was keeping Christ as the focus of my life, which I always do. Sure there might be something that’s been on my mind and could unintentionally be the center of my life, but in the grand scheme of things, Christ is #1 in my life; nothing else can nor should replace that.
 
 

Tuesday

Something that I’ve wanted to start doing more is spend time on my own familiarizing myself with God’s word. This is something that’s been…overdue, so I’m trying to pick it up again.

At first, I was going to read the Gospel of John, since that’s the only Gospel I haven’t read on my own yet. However, I decided to read Genesis because, well mainly my “renewed” interest in animals, and by extension, Biology. Also, reading Psalm 78 beforehand got me curious to start familiarizing myself with the Old Testament; so why not start at the very beginning?

(Quick context info: typically before I read a couple chapters of a book of the Bible, I always read the next Psalm down the line, whatever it may be. I want to read all the way through Psalms in conjunction with familiarizing myself with the rest of the Bible.)

A few passages that stood out to me are listed below. As a side note, I’m reading out of a New International Version (NIV) Bible, but I believe the essence of what’s said is still the same no matter what translation you read. I won’t go into detail as to why these stood out to me here, so take them as you will for now.

  • Psalm 78:4 – We will not hide them from their children; we will tell the next generation the praiseworthy deeds of the LORD, his power, and the wonders he has done.
  • Psalm 78:36-39 – But when they would flatter him with their mouths, lying to him with their tongues; / their hearts were not loyal to him, they were not faithful to his covenant. / Yet he was merciful; he forgave their iniquities and did not destroy them. Time after time he restrained his anger and did not stir up his full wrath. / He remembered that they were but flesh, a passing breeze that does not return.
  • Genesis 1:27 – So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them.
  • Genesis 2:18 – The LORD God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.”
  • Genesis 2:22-24 – Then the LORD God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man.
    The man said, “This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman,’ for she was taken out of man.” For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife and they will become one flesh.

 
 

Wednesday

Wednesday’s are generally my busy days; I’m pretty much blocked with classes and a 4 hr. shift with only two hours free. However, working at the library, not much happens from 4pm – 8pm, so it can be a nice, relaxing shift at the end of a long day.

This is when I started to get really scatter-brained, and I was so all day. As soon as I got done with my last class, I did NOT want to think about school or anything related for the rest of the day; so I brought some books to read and my notebook I use for blog ideas and other non-creative writing stuff. And that’s when I got the idea to start this up and, possibly, other, specified blogs.
 
 

Thursday

Every Thursday night, Intervarsity holds what’s known as Quest. This is simply a worship service for our chapter (a.k.a. the college I go to) and typically has someone give a Christian message covering a particular topic.

Before writing this post, I outlined anything significant that happened this week. As I look at my notes right now, I’m thinking that this day should go into it’s own post; quite a lot happened and it could end up being dense, deep, and possibly have a bit of a rant. I’ve decided against explaining what happened this day. I’ve talked with who I need to about this, and it’s currently not a big issue for me anymore, though I do think about it and anything connected to it from time to time.
 
 

Friday

Thankfully not much happened today other than help open up the library at 7:30am and work for a few hours, go about my two classes for the day, spent some time with God and His word, and attended Brony club for most of the evening. Nothing much else happened.

(Just as a FYI, a Brony is basically an adult fan of the current reboot of the show My Little Pony, and yes, I am one.)

Categories: Life Events | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

