It’s Probably Going to Happen

I’m thinking of doing the inevitable changing of majors soon; I just have to get this one class dropped first because I’m tired of thinking about that.

I almost feel like, with my English major, I sometimes feel like I’m re-taking high school (though it might be because I’ve been hammering away at the gen-ed/general humanities major requirements along with any literature and writing requirements (I’m so sick of being required to take advanced Spanish courses)).

I guess I’m just tired of taking courses just to fulfill a requirement and not because I want to learn something. I honestly don’t care about learning Spanish because I don’t feel it’ll be necessary for my current path nor if I were to change my major. Regarding the class I’m planning to drop, I don’t mind learning about other world religions and what their philosophies/theologies are, but I’m not going to risk losing my faith or values. Personally, I don’t think my faith is strong enough to tackle this kind of thing just yet, and I don’t feel that God is calling me to go overseas on mission work or something like that.

From what I can tell for the course requirements for Biology, I’ll actually be learning something useful and specified for whatever profession I get myself into. Plus…I’ve found that I like learning about the natural world, at least with animals. This is coming from a guy who switched from Engineering after taking it for one semester because I didn’t want to deal with all the advanced math and science. Lo and behold, I’m thinking of going into a science field.

Don’t get me wrong, there were a few classes that I enjoyed, and there are a couple classes I’m taking currently that I enjoy (these are just the courses for my major specifically):

  • Technical Writing
  • American Lit Through the Civil War
  • American Lit After the Civil War
  • Intro to Creative Writing
  • Intro to Philosophy
  • Poetry Writing
  • Wisconsin Indian Lit

Essentially, I enjoy lit and writing classes the most, so I guess I got my emphasis right, Professional Writing. Maybe I should have gone with a writing or literature minor instead; those seem to be the only classes I truly enjoy, other than the couple Biology courses I have.

Maybe I should do the flip…

Categories: Thoughts | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

