February 23, 2015

This one’s a little late but like I said in my introductory post, and I think the “About” page, I’m keeping to a semi-regular posting schedule. This is mostly just to keep myself on track. With that said, onto this past week!

Monday

The class that I’ve been trying to drop for the past couple weeks is Philosophy of Religion. All I needed at the time was my professor’s signature, then the drop form would be complete to turn in so I could pay the $15 drop fee. However, he wasn’t there during his office hours last week, and there were only two times I was able to see him. Needless to say I was pretty peeved. Because of this, I had to attend class tonight just to get his signature.

Thankfully, it was pretty painless. He pretty much just signed the form and I didn’t have to tell him why I was dropping the class. He also felt bad that I had to sit through class if I was going to drop it anyway. But, as I’ve explained before, it was the only way I could reach him in person.

After all this, I was just out of sorts for pretty much no reason at all. As a result, I ended up buying two boxes of Nutty Bars and had a beer when I got back to my room. And for any of the beer aficionados that are curious, I had a New Glarus Cabin Fever, a Pale Wisconsin Honey Bock. More info on their site.
 
 

Tuesday

I guess the only real interesting thing about today is the face I went off campus for a change, and this is something I never do. All I really did though was hang out with some friends at their apartment for a couple hours after classes and work were done for the day. Luckily they don’t live too far off campus and they live downtown, which is really close to campus; so getting there isn’t too much of a hassle.

Being a Tuesday, and not having much else to do, I took a look at God’s word again and picked up where I left off last time. I read the entirety of the Great Flood and the account of Noah, along with the next Psalm down the line. The following passages that stood out to me the most are as follows (again, taken from the NIV):

  • Psalm 80:17-19 – Let your hand rest on the man at your right hand, the son of man you have raised up for yourself. Then we will not turn away from you: revive us, and we will call on your name. Restore us, O LORD God Almighty; make your face shine upon us, that we may be saved.
  • Genesis 8:20-22 – Then Noah built an altar to the LORD and, taking some of all the clean animals and clean birds, he sacrificed burnt offerings on it. The LORD smelled the pleasing aroma and said in his heart, “Never again will I curse the ground because of man, even though every inclination of his heart is evil from childhood. And never again will I destroy all living creatures, as I have done.
    “As long as the earth endures,
    seedtime and harvest,
    cold and heat,
    summer and winter,
    day and night
    will never cease.”
  • Genesis 9:16-17 – Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.”
    So God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant I have established between me and all life on earth.”

In general, it was a great reminder of God’s great love for us. He knows the evil in our hearts and what we are capable of, in both a good and bad sense, yet He’s willing to give us a chance and not smite us because we’re being little shits. Same reason why he allowed his Son to die for us; his unending love for us.
 
 

Wednesday

Today was more or less an off day, but in a silly way. I was in this weird mood all day, probably due to tiredness, and I had some trouble thinking and paying attention in classes; however this wasn’t intentional because most of my classes I enjoy. Work was pretty much the same way, I had a hard time paying attention in case a patron wants to check out something or needs help, as well as pay attention to the time to record the gate count for the front door.

Also, I learned via National Geographic’s twitter feed that ants apparently keep dedicated toilets in their nests; who knew:

 
 

Thursday

Even though it was my birthday here, not a whole lot happened and I only had one class. I didn’t mind though; I figured everyone would be busy anyway considering it was still a weekday, so I didn’t plan on doing anything for my birthday. However, I did leave it open for my friends to plan something for me on the weekend if they wanted to and are able; whether that happens or not, well, keep reading to find out.

Also, I apparently share my birthday with Batman (Feb. 19); this is the first time I heard about it.
 
 

Friday

Again, not much happened today other than I continued my reading of Genesis and the next Psalm. This time around, however, the last passage noted below was very convicting for me. I won’t copy this particular passage entirely, only the title of the section stated in the Bible I have. Maybe you’ll know what’s going on in the passage based on the title alone, but I’ll probably make a separate post explaining what it’s about and my thoughts on it. In any case, the noted passages are as follows:

  • Psalm 81:6-7a – He says, “I removed the burden from their shoulders; their hands were set free from the basket. In your distress you called and I rescued you, I answered you out of a thundercloud…”
  • Psalm 81:15-16 – “Those who hate the LORD would cringe before him, and their punishment would last forever. But you would be fed with the finest of wheat; with honey from the rock I would satisfy you.”
  • Genesis 11:6 – The LORD said, “If as one people speaking the same language they have begun to do this, then nothing they plan to do will be impossible for them.”
  • Genesis 12:10-20 – Abram in Egypt

I should probably explain Genesis 11:6 a bit here. To me, this statement makes sense to me: if we all spoke the same language, with probably the same dialect, there would be no miscommunication and probably little to no conflict between nations; in this context, God’s talking about the tower of Babel, so we probably would’ve been one, world nation to begin with.

I do not claim to be a Bible scholar and I don’t know what other, wiser Christians think about this passage. This passage just stands out to me because I wonder…why did God place a language barrier between us humans? Why did he add that communication challenge for us?

I think it might be part of God’s plan for us to spread His love towards one another, and while doing so, gain wisdom in knowing how different and diverse we are culturally. That’s about all the brain-dump I’ve got on this.

As for other stuff, here’s a couple more cool tweets from Nat Geo’s twitter that I found interesting:

 
 

Saturday & Sunday

Saturday was a working day for me; I wanted to get as much homework done as possible before Sunday because I wasn’t sure what my friends had planned for my birthday, so I didn’t know how much of the day it would take up. Thankfully, I managed to get what I wanted done done.

Later that night, I played this game called Legends of Equestria for a couple hours. Basically what this game is is a MLP themed MMORPG (i.e. World of Warcraft or Runescape) that’s entirely fan-made. It’s currently in a pre-alpha stage, meaning that it’s still broken and unfinished in several places, but it’s functional and fun. Because of this, however, the creators of the game are only limited with when they can open up the servers so people can play this; they usually open them a weekend at a time and usually when a convention’s going on. More info can be found on the website for the game, and you can also create your own pony if you want!

When Sunday came around, I pretty much took the day off, essentially. The only thing I really did for my birthday was have dinner with my friends at one of the on-campus dining locations. I didn’t mind since I knew everyone’s been really busy this past week.

Categories: Life Events | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

