February 27, 2015

This week was pretty busy for me because I have weekend plans for once and I was trying to get as much homework done as I can beforehand. It was pretty stressful and I constantly worried that something would go wrong…and then I start forgetting about assignments because I get so caught up in other other ones. This weekend will be a fun and relaxing end for this week.

There are a couple days I omitted simply because nothing in particular happened on those days; I’ll be doing this from here on out. With that said,
 
 

Monday

Today was the first week I could attend Witcom and not skip class, since I already dropped it last week.

Apparently we’re covering the Gospel of John; today’s passage was John 14:1-14:

“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going.” Thomas said to him, “Lord, we do not know where you are going. How can we know the way?” Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you had known me, you would have known my Father also. From now on you do know him and have seen him.”

Philip said to him, “Lord, show us the Father, and it is enough for us.” Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I say to you I do not speak on my own authority, but the Father who dwells in me does his works. Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, or else believe on account of the works themselves.

“Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father. Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it.

A lot of what was discussed was stuff I’ve heard before, but it’s always nice to be reminded of the Gospel and the purpose Christ has in my life, even if I may not be going through something right now.

Regardless, I’m still glad that I’m able to attend Witcom again. I want to try to do this more often since I attended infrequently last semester almost to the point I stopped attending. For some reason, I guess I didn’t consider it important enough at the time. Now…now I’m trying to change things by rethinking what’s already going on and affecting me positively in my life.
 


 
On a completely unrelated note, I found out that I’ll be able to go to my first furry convention! Now, I’m sure a lot of you are wondering what a “furry” is, or you may have heard of the term before but may associate negative connotations with it.

Well, this is what I consider a furry in the general sense: Someone who likes the concept of anthropomorphic (anthro) animals, usually mammals but can include reptiles, amphibians, avians, dinosaurs, mythical or fictional creatures, hybrids, and even invertebrates. The term “anthro” generally refers to characters that are animals, but have a humanoid figure to them. Some examples include: TMNT, Star Fox, classic Disney and Looney Toons characters, and, most recently, BoJack Horseman (yes, that Netflix show). I’m willing to make a separate post discussing this if requested.

Anyway, on to Fur Squared.

From what I understand, this will be it’s second year, so of course it’s going to be small and there’s a possibility that not much will be offered in terms of panels or events. However, I’m still really excited to go; it’ll definitely be a new and interesting experience, especially since I’ll probably be the small percentage of attendees who won’t be wearing a fursuit, a.k.a. a ~$2000+ full or partial animal costume these dorks wear for fun. It’ll be even more fun because I’m going with my friend who indirectly influenced me to become a furry, as well as a couple other furry friends I came to know.

Now that I think about it, this will probably be the weirdest thing I talk about on this blog…
 
 

Wednesday

As I’ve been going about my Diversity of Life class, I’ve noticed that I’ve been really enjoying it.

I enjoy what’s being discussed both in class and in lab, I enjoy doing the labs each week, even though I’m doing them for three hours starting at 8am, and in general, I’ve been trying to take it seriously and not treat it as just another class to complete for my major or minor. More and more I’m seriously starting to think I should make the swap.

I don’t know why, but I was really tired almost all day. As of writing this I’m at work; I’m not tired, but that’s just because I had some coffee before my shift. I didn’t stay up really late the previous night and I don’t think I exerted more energy than usual, as Wednesdays are usually my busy days.

It was snowing all day where I’m at, from the time I got out of my lab, 10am, to the time I got out of work, 8pm, but even then it was still snowing, just not as much around this time. When I got out of work, all the freshly fallen snow sparkled under the walkway lights and those of the surrounding campus building; the cold was noticeable, but not bothersome. This is one instance where I wish I had my camera with me; I would have loved to post some pics on here!

I might have to make a habit of carrying my camera with me now.
 
 

Thursday

I don’t anything will top what happened between one of my closest friends and I this day.

Last year, there was an incident involving me and my two closest friends, a guy and a girl, as a result of them starting a relationship. This really shook our trust with each other, but they have said several times afterwards they still trust me and have forgiven me. I believe they have, but for a long time it didn’t feel 100%, at least with my guy friend.

This friend wanted to keep mutually agreed boundaries for safety reasons, which I understand why in the first place, but by this point it’s been a year; I have changed so much since then. The girl was willing to give me the benefit of the doubt, especially since she’s the only close girl friend I have who I can talk about life things with; him not so much it seemed. From what I can tell, his tight hold on boundaries hinder his trust in me, despite my positive changes.

So he agreed to let that tight hold on them go and give me the benefit of the doubt. I’m happy with the changes that are happening to me right now, and I want to move on from the past and not allow it to bog my mind.

We’re both Bronies (a.k.a. older fans of the reboot of MLP) so after we got things sorted out, my friend wanted to write a letter to Princess Celestia about what he learned about friendship. I suggested we should write it to Princess Twilight (another friend of ours) since she’s the princess of friendship. So he wrote her an email and CCed me. Here’s the “letter” (he’s Rainbow Dash):

Dear Princess Twilight,

Today I learned that being a good friend means having a willingness to go beyond our usual way of thinking when working through problems with another friend. Sometimes our own way of handling things can be good for a time and then not be good later on. Boundaries are definitely one of those things; they’re good to have at the beginning but if you keep them up for too long they can end up hindering efforts to move forward. Being able to trust a friend is key in sustaining a lasting relationship with them, and that’s especially true in times of trouble or conflict. Not only that, but trusting each other is just another way of showing that you love and care about one another. And that always makes it worth doing.

Your faithful student,

Rainbow Dash

Ok, more context time!

Within our circle of friends, all of us Bronies, we are each considered a character from the show. It’s usually out of the main cast but sometimes we’ll have the minor characters. Like I said before, my friends are Twilight Sparkle and Rainbow Dash because those are their favorite characters. I’m considered Applejack because she’s my favorite character.

Correction…this is probably the weirdest thing I’ll talk about on this blog.
 
 

Friday, Saturday, Sunday

I will be gone this weekend at aforementioned furry convention. Expect interesting things when I get back!

Categories: Life Events | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

