Current Thoughts on Love is an Orientation by Andrew Marin

Love is an Orientation coverAs I’ve mentioned near the end of this post, I’m now reading the second book Love is an Orientation by Andrew Marin.

So far, it’s helped me feel much better should I come to the conclusion that I’m bisexual. I shouldn’t allow my sexual orientation to define the core of who I am. That’s not where I should be putting my identity, my identity should be in Christ and Christ alone.

As I’ve also said in the aforementioned post, part of the reason I’ve been struggling with my orientation has to do with influences from the decisions I’ve made that still affect me today; so I don’t believe that this struggle is just because “I was born gay/bi/pan” or it was solely due to parental or lack of parental influences. I’ve been trying to consider any and all possibilities and keep an open mind to any and all opinions on the debate, even if I don’t agree with them.

But reading this has reminded me of something: God’s the only one who can judge us, yet through his Son, we are forgiven of our sinful nature and can move on from past mistakes, so long as we allow the Holy Spirit to convict us and not have a hard heart towards God. In other words, it reminded me of the Gospel message and that I should strive to follow in Jesus’ footsteps, regardless if I’m straight or not.

He will still love me and care about me despite who I am.

I’ll be honest, the way this book is written makes me think the audience for this are ministers, or those studying to be ministers, who want to reach out to the LGBTQ community, and they aren’t quite sure how. Also, I like how Marin speaks from first-hand experience: his first interaction with the LGBTQ was when his three best friends came out to him in three consecutive months; he also used to be one of those conservative, bigoted, anti-gay, Christian types growing up until this happened. Now, he has a small Christian organization that helps reach out to that community, the one most Christians do not dare to reach out to, let alone discuss.

In a way, after reading this book for quite some time (currently on ch. 8 out of 10), and hearing what my Canadian friend’s been involved with, I think God’s dropping some kind of hint for me to connect with these people somehow. My heart just breaks hearing how fellow Christians treat these people, and how many parents treat their kids when they come out to them. No wonder many of them harden their hearts towards God.

Even though this hasn’t been as hard of a read as Straight & Narrow?, it’s definitely got me thinking a lot more about the homosexuality debate and how someone who might not be straight still live their life for God’s glory. I like this book a lot better not because of it’s overwhelmingly positive message, but because Marin has had personal experience and convictions about how he views and treats LGBTQ persons.

They are God’s children too.

Categories: Thoughts | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

