May 3, 2015

This has been kind of an odd week for me, but some pretty neat stuff still happened.

Monday

Today I ended up talking with another furry friend via voice chat; she just randomly asked me if I wanted to do so, so I figured why not. Along with Pordz, I met her on tumblr as well; name’s Olivia and she’s a jackalope.

She seems nice, interesting too, though I’m not sure how much we’d be able to relate on because she’s in high school, but even then, I’m finding we don’t have too many differences other than age, gender, and where we’re at with our education.

Still, I’m glad I’m starting to get to know at least a couple furry friends online; at least that’s one way to try and be more social. Who knows what could result of it?

Also, heard this song for the first time today and it’s awesome!


 
 

Wednesday

Fursona color ref (rough draft) (wordpress safe) I’ll be honest, I don’t remember if anything significant happened yesterday and I barely remember what happened Monday (I WASN’T DRUNK). The reason? I’ve been working on a color reference of my fursona, and for the past couple nights, I’ve stayed up until about 2 am working on him. All I have left are the stripes, which I know will take forever. I’m really liking how he’s turned out so far.

And no, I didn’t draw him; I’m not that talented. I used this interactive template that’s a type of file you can only open in a program like GIMP or Photoshop, as it’s in layers so you can select what parts you want. It’s pretty neat.

I’m torn between a few names, though I’m finalizing that last. I like how they all sound and the first two on the list sound powerful, but they also have cute short-hand versions of the name.

  • Ignatius (Iggy)
  • Enrique (Ricky)
  • Reggie
  • Kaito
  • Skamu

 
 

Thursday

I went in for my counseling appointment today, and since I’ve done it before, I ended up meeting with the same counselor.

The only thing I talked about was me questioning my orientation. In brief, I just told that basics of how it all started and what my process has been. I’m also glad that she was a Christian too; it really helps that that’s something we could freely mention and have that additional support. So despite that this was something I’ve talked about many times before, it really helped. I still wanted to talk with her about why I wanted to see a counselor in the first place and what was going on two weeks ago; I just know my insecurities and anxieties are connected with this struggle somehow.

There’s also a LGBTQ support group that meets twice a week, though they’re most likely done by now with it being the end of the semester and all. I emailed whoever was in charge of that and I’m planning on giving that a try next semester.

wpid-20150430_234425.jpg Speaking of it nearing the end of the semester, I decided to get some beer later tonight because: why not? I would’ve had one right away when I got back to my room, but Ben invited me to play ping pong with a few of our friends as soon as I got back.

It was this weird, round-robin type set up:

  • There were six of us, three on each side to start off
  • The two closest to the ends would go first, the other four were on the side, two on each
  • Whoever has the ball serves, then the other player would have to hit it
    • The player that served would move to the side and the next player in the rotation would go up
    • After the other player who was served to hit the ball, they would have to move as well and the next player in the rotation would go up
  • Each player gets three strikes, one if they miss or if the ball doesn’t bounce on the opposite side

And this keeps going until there’s only one person left. Needless to say, this got really intense and silly.

After getting back to my room, I decided to have a beer for the night. I ended up getting Spotted Cow. This was the first beer I tried and I was very surprised at how smooth it was, tasty too. It’s definitely going to be one of my favorites.

I think I drank it too fast though, because I got quite a buzz while doing so, more intense than when I usually drink alcohol, which isn’t often. It got me to go to sleep pretty well though.
 
 

Friday

This morning at work, I decided to try and write some more fiction again. All I really did was find a random prompt and tried going from there, as this was mainly an exercise to get my story-writing juices flowing again. I’ll be honest, I think I have something pretty good so far.

All the prompt was as this: the bus reached its last stop at midnight, in the middle of nowhere. Somehow I tied this into my Axeford universe and ended up creating a new major character, along with featuring one I already had. It’s nice if you create this pool of characters you can use, and just put them in different situations and interactions. I might put this on my fiction blog when I finish the first draft.

Later tonight, I went to this annual event called “Late Night at the Markee.” It’s held at the Markee Pioneer Student Center, hence the title of the event, and is held by the university for the students around this time of the academic year.

The best way I could describe it is something like a fair; a few of the attractions were:

  • inflatable twister
  • jousing
  • rock climbing wall
  • laser tag
  • aqua massages
  • and much more

Also the dining services employees were going around the student center selling food, and you had to buy tickets in order to pay for food. There were also free Monster energy drinks, but they were limited to one per person.

Needless to say, I was very tired and a little overwhelmed by all the stimulation going on; I was also there with a few of my friends until about 1 am. So when I got back to my room, I decided to have a smoke outside, though I ended up staying outside until around 2 am because it was so nice out; I really needed to be an introvert for a while after all that excitement.

Categories: Life Events | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

