Sept. 7, 2015

As of writing this, my Labor Day has been pretty chill so far. Right now, I’m hanging out with my friend, Ben L. at a local coffee shop called Badger Brothers for a write meet. We were here last night too, and it was our first time doing so; I don’t know how often this will happen or if we stay at the same place, but I hope to at least have a write meet with him on a weekly basis. Who knows? Maybe we’ll find others to join us.

MV5BOTE2OTk4MTQzNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODUxOTM3OQ@@._V1_SY317_CR6,0,214,317_AL_Last night was pretty great though; I watched Sharknado with Ben, my roommate, and what better to go with a bad movie than beer? That was the first time I put more than one beer in me. All I can say is that I was quite out of it and quite buzzed; I pretty much went straight to bed that night. All I had was a Blue Moon and a Goose Island Summer Ale; apparently that was about 10% alcohol/vol. Still, it was a ton of fun: Sharknado is one of those movies that’s just beautifully terrible. The first couple seconds of that movie set the tone for the whole thing, as if the movie’s aware that it’s so ridiculous and cheesy that it doesn’t try to convince you otherwise. I know the Nostalgia Critic did a review on this movie, so I’m curious to see what he thinks. I have no idea when or if I’ll see the next two (yes, there’s a Sharknado 2 out, and Sharknado 3 is in the works).

I still have yet to go through a full week of classes and work. I’ve only had three days of that so far, and I’ll only have four days this week. Despite this, I’m already have stuff to work on and read for this week in all my classes. The only class I’m not sure how to feel about yet is Fiction Writing; I’ve only had one day of that so far. However, I and every one else in the class will be a little annoyed this semester because of this one kid who talks a lot, is very, very analytical, and uses a lot of big words to explain whatever the hell he’s talking about. I’m honestly a bit nervous about this guy reading my stuff for this class, if we have a workshop element, because I know he’s going to nit-pick the crap out of everything in everyone’s stories. I guess I’ll just have to deal with it as it comes.

That’s about it for now. Starting tomorrow, I’m probably not going to have much of a life and I have no idea how often I’ll be able to write or update this blog; I do have times blocked off for homework, studying, and writing, and I can work on stuff during work if I have down time. I really want to keep up this writing thing as best as I can; hopefully taking Fiction Writing will help with this somewhat.

Categories: Life Events | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

