Oct. 13, 2015

The grade I want to get this next round of exams.

The grade I want to get this next round of exams.

I noticed it’s been a while since I’ve posted a straight-up journal post, about two weeks to be precise. College has been stressful on me lately, especially since I didn’t do too well on my last Chemistry exam (as in failed it), nor on a couple other first exams of the semester. I’ve also noticed I’ve been having a bit of a hard time trying to keep up with Chemistry and even Fiction Writing.


Chemistry is hard; that’s obvious. We at least cover about two, three, or even four sections of a chapter in lecture, and have a constant flow of homework to do. It’s been keeping me on my toes.

However, with Fiction Writing, we get to choose a prompt from our text every week, then hand in what we wrote to our professor. Sounds simple enough, right? Well, then there’s trying to come up with something for those prompts every week. That’s almost always what gets me in creative writing classes. This week’s prompts are quite vague, and the ones I want to do are as follows (all paraphrased from text):

  1. Create a reality that is convincing – and yet literally impossible.
  2. Describe the way an action or event feels. Focus on sense of touch for objects.
  3. Take some characters out for dinner. Describe a particular course or even a whole meal. Focus on sense of taste.

I’m probably just gonna do the second prompt, yet I want to combine the first and second ones. Being a furry and wanting to write furry fiction, the first option’s obvious. I mean, do you really see anthropomorphic, bipedal animals walking around in your day-to-day life? Of course not! Yet I can still go in any direction with that: fantasy, sci-fi, slice-of-life, horror, mystery, suspense, erotica, etc.

The second prompt seems easy enough, and I could spin a story out of whatever I end up writing. The action or event doesn’t have to be grand or special or emotional, it can be something mundane like putting on a coat. Even if I don’t get a story out of it, it would be a nice exercise in descriptive writing.

The only reason I wouldn’t do the last prompt is because I don’t have that much of a varied pallet. I haven’t eaten a large variety of foods, so I wouldn’t have experienced a wide variety of flavors. However, like with the second prompt, it would be a good exercise in descriptive writing; I’d just be using a sense that I don’t think is used that often in fiction.

Anyway, that’s how college has been going so far. I’m really hoping to pass this next Chemistry exam. I want to be realistic and try to get a C, but at the same time I want to shoot for an A. Either way, I want to make a vast improvement from that last test, along with all of my upcoming tests.

Categories: Life Events | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

