Sona Sunday – Dec. 18, 2016

Someone on Furry Amino proposed #SonaSunday as an alternative for those who can’t do #FursuitFriday. It’s basically a way for furries to show off their fursonas in whatever way they choose, be it a small gallery of art of their sona, a story, a Q&A, or whatever they like. I decided to use my favorite commission (which I admit I share around way too much) and cleaned up a quick write-up I did where I expressed my frustrations with writing. I think I wrote it a number of months ago (I mention Wolfletech being my boyfriend), but I like it; it’s a good day-in-the-life type of scene for Ricky.

I don’t consider this something I’d put in my writing portfolio/gallery/whatever you want to call it. My intention behind Ricky is for me to portray myself in the furry fandom as true to myself as possible, flaws and all. He has the same personality, goals, dreams, habits, vices, and background as me, though I admit to taking some creative liberties when I wrote his bio.

Anyway, hope you enjoy this small window into a beginning writer’s life.
 


 
writer-commission-by-reghan

“Now…what can I shit out in an hour,” Ricky thought to himself. He looked at the clock at the corner of his laptop screen. 10:15 pm. A timer ticked away on his phone that gave him an hour to just write whatever came to his head. “Damn it’s been a while; I haven’t written regularly in a long time.” He sighed. “Well…it’s not like I’ve had time to write in the first place anyway, now that I’m not a jobless bum anymore.”

He began pounding away at the keys, not caring what words appeared as a result; he just wanted to write out a story, any story, even if it was filled to the brim with typos and errors. Of course, that’s what a lot of beginning writers struggle with: that consistent flow of ideas, the drive to write, and getting started on a story.

“I should just think of this as a second job,” the tiger thought, “I mean, writing does take a lot of work, and I do pride myself in taking time to flesh out my stories.” He continued typing, fixing occasional typos he managed to catch on the fly.

He paused.

“Ughhh…It’s not like I don’t have stories to work on. There’s that whole backlog of unfinished ones just sitting in my OneDrive taking up space.”

He minimized his drafting and opened up his “Scraps” folder. He knew exactly what happened in each story just from glancing at the titles alone. He knew which ones were his favorites and which ones were simply sketches of scenes or characters. He knew which ones contained human characters and which ones contained anthropomorphic characters. Most of them had the potential to be brought to completion, though they were generally the ones he liked.

There was one story in particular he desperately wanted to finish: “Runaways.” He enjoyed writing this one, and his boyfriend, Wolfletech, keeps referencing it often. “Gah! Why can’t I think of a good ending for this one!?” The tiger rubbed his temples in frustration. “I really want to finish this. I like it, my wuffy likes it…but that damn ending! I know it was too abrupt at first, but I’m not sure how to end this. I could try an action scene, sure, but I would like to plan it out first before writing it out.”

He stared at the screen for a few moments, trying to come up with something, anything, to give this story a good ending.

The timer ticked on: 30 minutes left.

Losing brain power and motivation to write anymore, Ricky saved the document and closed the window. He turned off his laptop and closed the lid.

“Fuck it, I’m gonna go out for a cig.”

He got up off of his futon, grabbed his phone to turn off the timer, and grabbed his catnip cigarettes and lighter. He headed out the front door.

He knew smoking was a bad habit, but it gave him time to think, to ponder. Many of his poem or story ideas came to him when he stepped outside to smoke a cigarette or a cigar of some variety. It’s just him, the smell of tobacco, the cool night air, the ambient noises of the apartment complex and surrounding neighborhood, and his wandering thoughts.

Nighttime was his time. To think, to relax, to write, to sleep. It gave him a chance to do what he loved before having to fill propane tanks all day the next day.

Categories: Thoughts | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Sona Sunday – Dec. 18, 2016

  1. I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this, and I believe you should finish the story. It has a great beginning, and I think it could have an even better ending.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ben

      I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      I don’t know if I will add on to this one or not (wrote it a number of months ago and haven’t looked at it since). Sometimes if I write a sketch or flash fiction piece and I like it, I’ll usually post it. Seems like a lot of people say “you should continue this” when I post those, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, if that’s the case, then let me be a part of those many people, haha. I’ve read a lot of fanfics and things similar to that, but I think I can honestly say that this is the best I have read so far. Do you mind possibly letting me see your others?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ben

        Oh absolutely! However they are on my story blog. There should be a link to that and my poetry blogs at the bottom of the page.

        Like

  2. Thank you so much! I enjoy reading short stories quite a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

